Day 3: even more fun

Another day, another ham and cheese sandwich for breakfast. On the plane ride to Poland, I had some polish orange juice. I found the same stuff in the store of our hotel, and it’s by far the best orange juice I’ve ever had. I’m going to have to see about bringing some back to the U.S. Here is a picture of the breakfast we are served every morningI only got roughly 3-4 hours of sleep the night before, so I can already tell today is going to be a rough day. Our tour guide met us at the hotel again at 9am for our adventure of the day. Today we went to a museum called podziemia rynku (ryneck underground) where we saw various artifacts that were discovered under the city square in Kraków. One of those artifacts being human bones. This is a part of the underground museum we saw. After the city museum, we went to the university museum for a tour. It was interesting to see what a really old university looks like. It was established in the 13th or 14th century. One of the coolest things I saw there was a large cylinder shaped object that can hold 6 open books at once. It was mainly used for professors or anyone else doing research and looking at several different books.

For lunch, we went to a buffet style restaurant. The buffet was not at all what I expected. It was probably 1/4 of the size of a typical American buffet… And no, it’s not “all you can eat”. I ate chicken, potatoes, and a potato soup with carrots and dill. The lady asked if I’d like some dill on my chicken and potatoes, so my instincts told me to accept the dill since it seems to be the seasoning of choice here. I think I’ve consumed more dill in the past three days than I have in my entire life. The next part of the day was by far the most interesting. We took a bus to a salt mine. It is the largest salt mine in Europe and has been open since the 13th century, so for over 700 years. We were told that we could lick/taste the walls of salt- so of course I licked the wall. The salt tasted very pure and natural. We had to go down 54 flights of stairs to get to the bottom, 378 steps total. We were told that children and slaves never worked in the mine since it was considered a privilege to work there. There was a Massive chapel in one part of the mine. The chandeliers were made of 2,000 salt crystals each. It took 3 men 7 years to dig out the chapel area, and they never worked at the same time together. There are still services held here every Sunday. I tried a chocolate/vanilla mixed cone that tasted amazing! The chocolate part tasted like frozen frosting. I’ve noticed that the Poles are very picky about how you pay for things. They obviously prefer cash, but if you try to give them a bill too large, they are quite rude to you, or even tell you that you have to pay with something else- that happened to one of the guys in my group. Also, one time I bought something that cost 32 zloty, and I handed the cashier a 50, and they wanted another 2 zloty from me so they wouldn’t have to give as much change. When I said I didn’t have 2 zloty, she became kinda rude to me and just threw my change on the counter at me. 5 star customer service if you ask me. 

We ended up walking around the city for 1.5 hours trying to find a place to dinner, so that was a disaster. We finally came across a place that served American ish food. We were so tired that it didn’t matter where we ate. So far, this was the most disappointing meal that I’ve had so far. 

Tomorrow we are going to take a tour of Auschwitz.

Leave a Reply

